
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
   

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

NUMBER

 #15-76-02 

DATE 

July 1, 2015 

OF INTEREST TO 

County Directors 

Social Services Supervisors 
and Staff 

ACTION/DUE DATE 

Please read information 
and prepare for 
implementation 

EXPIRATION DATE 

July 1, 2017 

Bulletin
 
County Portion of Cost of Care 
at State Operated Services 
Regional Treatment Centers 

TOPIC 

Cost of care for adult mental health programs at the State 
Operated Services (SOS) Regional Treatment Centers. This 
bulletin replaces bulletin #13-76-03. 

PURPOSE 
� identify changes made by the 2015 legislative session 
� review the changes made by the 2013 legislative session 
� define criteria used to determine length of stay 
� define criteria used to determine medical necessity 
� outline client appeal process 

CONTACT 
Shirley Jacobson 
CFO – State Operated Services 
(651) 431 – 3696 

SIGNED 
ANNE BARRY 
Deputy Commission 
Direct Care & Treatment 

TERMINOLOGY NOTICE 
The terminology used to describe people we serve has 
changed over time. The Minnesota Department of Human 
Services (DHS) supports the use of “People First” language. 
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I. Background 

This bulletin is intended to provide information on the billing practices for the adult mental 
health inpatient services provided at State Operated Regional Treatment Centers as 
directed by Minnesota Statutes, section 246.54, subdivision 1, and amended by the 2015 
Legislative Session by Laws of Minnesota 2015, chapter 71, article 4, section 2 as follows: 

Subdivision 1. County portion for cost of care. 

(a) EXCEPT for chemical dependency services provided under sections 254B.01 to 

254B.09, the client's county shall pay to the state of Minnesota a portion of the cost of 
care provided in a regional treatment center or a state nursing facility to a client legally 
settled in that county. A county's payment shall be made from the county's own sources 
of revenue and payments shall equal a percentage of the cost of care, as determined 
by the commissioner, for each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends at a 
regional treatment center or a state nursing facility according to the following schedule: 

1) zero percent for the first 30 days; 

2) 20 percent for days 31 and over if the stay is determined to be clinically 
appropriate for the client;  

3) 100 percent for each day during the stay, including the day of admission, 
when the facility determines that it is clinically appropriate for the client to be 
discharged.

 (b) IF payments received by the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 exceed 80 

percent of the cost of care for days over 31 for clients who meet the criteria in 
paragraph (a), clause (2), the county shall be responsible for paying the state only the 
remaining amount. The county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, 
the client's estate, or from the client's relatives, except as provided in section 246.53. 

The percent change made during the 2015 Legislative Session for individuals who meet 
paragraph (a), clause (3), will be effective for all patients in-house or admitted on or after 
July 1, 2015. 

II. Length of stay determination 

In accordance with the law, the following methods will be used to determine length 
of stay: 

	 DATE of admission to the program after release of any hold order will be 
counted as day one for the county cost of care determination  
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	 DISCHARGE from the inpatient episode will end the length of stay calculation 
for the episode unless a client is re-admitted to the program within 72 hours. If 
the client is readmitted within 72 hours from the discharge (provisional or full), 
the length of stay will continue from the previous episode 

III. SOS – Hospital Level Medical Necessity Criteria – 
Determination Process 

Minnesota Statutes, section 246.54, subdivision 1(b) requires the treatment facility 
determines the clinical appropriateness of discharge is as follows: 

Step 1 - Utilization management reviewer identifies a client treatment episode that may 

no longer meet hospital level medical necessity criteria using LOCUS (Levels of Care 
Utilization System). 

Step 2 - Utilization management reviewer reviews the client case with attending clinician 

to determine if clinical data supports hospital level medical necessity criteria, or “does not 
meet criteria” (DNMC). 

Step 3 – Utilization management supervisor reviews case with the utilization 

management reviewer to assure appropriate justification for DNMC and writes DNMC letter. 

Step 4 – SOS chief medical officer (CMO) reviews the case with the utilization 

management supervisor and if SOS CMO is in agreement, signs the DNMC letter. 

Step 5 – DNMC letter is sent to the client (or designee) and to the county case manager. 

IV. Process for appealing medical necessity determination 

Clients have the right to appeal this determination. Clients may file an appeal with the 
Appeals Unit of the Minnesota Department Human Services. The address is below. Clients 
must submit their appeal within 30 days of when they receive notice. If the client can show 
good cause for failing to appeal within 30 days, the client might be able to appeal within 60 
days. The human services judge decides if the client has good cause. 

Representation: If the client requests an appeal, they may represent themselves or ask a 
lawyer, a friend or others to help them. 

Appeals Units 
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
PO Box 64941 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0941 
(651) 431-3600 
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Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Advisory 
This information is available in accessible formats for people with disabilities by calling 
(651) 431-3676 (voice) or toll free at (800) 627-3529 or by using your preferred relay 
service. For other information on disability rights and protections, contact the agency’s ADA 
coordinator. 
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