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Bulletin 
NUMBER 
 #16-76-01 

DATE 
July 20, 2016 

OF INTEREST TO 
County Directors 

Social Services Supervisors 
and Staff  

 

ACTION/DUE DATE 
Please read information 

and prepare for 
implementation 

EXPIRATION DATE 
July 20, 2018 

County Portion of Cost of Care at 
State Operated Services Regional 
Treatment Centers 
TOPIC 
Cost of care for adult mental health programs at the Direct 
Care & Treatment - State Operated Services (SOS) 
Regional Treatment Centers and the Community Behavioral 
Health Hospitals. This bulletin replaces bulletin 15-76-02.   

PURPOSE 
This bulletin identifies changes made by the 2016 legislative 
session, reviews the changes made by the 2015 & 2013 
legislative sessions, defines the criteria used to determine 
length of stay, defines criteria used to determine medical 
necessity, outlines client appeal process, and outlines action 
that will be taken by the Department of Human Services 
when payment by county is not received. 

CONTACT 
Shirley Jacobson, CFO – Direct Care & Treatment 
(651) 431 - 3696 

SIGNED 
 

Nancy A. Johnston 
Deputy Commissioner, Direct Care & Treatment 

TERMINOLOGY NOTICE  
The terminology used to describe people we serve has 
changed over time. The Minnesota Department of Human 
Services (DHS) supports the use of "People First" language. 
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I. Background 
This bulletin is intended to provide information on the billing practices for the adult mental 
health inpatient services provided at Direct Care & Treatment State Operated Regional 
Treatment Centers and the Community Behavioral Health Hospitals as directed by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 246.54, subdivision 1a and 1b, and amended by the Laws of 
Minnesota 2016, Chapter 189, Article 17, Section 2 as follows:  

Subdivision 1. Generally. 
EXCEPT for chemical dependency services provided under Minnesota Statutes, sections 
245B.01 to 254B.09, the client’s county shall pay to the state of Minnesota a portion of the 
cost of care provided in a regional treatment center or state nursing facility to a client legally 
settled in that county.  A county’s payment shall be made from the county’s own sources of 
revenue and payment shall equal a percentage of the cost of care, as determined by the 
commissioner, for each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends at a regional 
treatment center or state nursing facility. 

Subdivision 1a. Anoka-Metro Regional Treatment Center. 
(a) A county’s payment of the cost of care provided at Anoka-Metro Regional 

Treatment Center shall be according to the following schedule: 
 

1) Zero percent for the first 30 days; 

2) 20 percent for days 31 and over if the stay is determined to be 
clinically appropriate for the client; 

3) 100 percent for each day during the stay, including the day of 
admission, when the facility determines that it is clinically 
appropriate for the client to be discharged. 

(b) If payments received by the state under Minnesota Statutes, sections 246.50 to 
246.53 exceeds 80 percent of the cost of care for days over 31 for clients who 
meet the criteria in paragraph (a), clause (2), the county shall be responsible for 
paying the state only the remaining amount.  The county shall not be entitled to 
reimbursement from the client, the client’s estate, or from the client’s relatives, 
except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 246.53. 

The percent change was made during the 2015 Legislative Session for individuals who 
meet paragraph (a), clause (3), which was effective for all patients in-house or admitted on 
or after July 1, 2015. 
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Subdivision 1b. Community Behavioral Health Hospitals. 
A county’s payment of the cost of care provided at state-operated community based 
behavioral health hospitals shall be according to the following schedule: 

(1) 100 percent of each day during the stay, including the day of admission, when the 
facility determines that it is clinically appropriate for the client to be discharged; and 

(2) The county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, the client’s estate, 
or from the client’s relatives, except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 
246.53. 

This is a new county cost of care share that is effective for all patients in-house or admitted 
on or after July 1, 2016.  

II. Length of stay determination 
In accordance with the law, the following methods will be used to determine length of stay:  

• DATE of admission to the program after release of any hold order will be 
counted as day one for the county cost of care determination 

• DISCHARGE from the inpatient episode will end the length of stay calculation 
for the episode unless a client is re-admitted to the program within 72 hours. If 
the client is re-admitted within 72 hours from the discharge (provisional or full), 
the length of stay will continue from the previous episode  

III. SOS – Hospital Level Medical Necessity Criteria – 
Determination Process 
Minnesota Statutes, section 246.54, subdivision 1(b) requires the treatment facility to 
determine the clinical appropriateness of discharge as follows: 

Step 1 – Utilization management reviewer identifies a client treatment episode that may no 
longer meet hospital level medical necessity criteria using LOCUS (Levels of Care 
Utilization System). 

Step 2 – Utilization management reviewer reviews the client case with attending clinician to 
determine if clinical data supports hospital level medical necessity criteria, or “does not 
meet criteria” (DNMC). 

Step 3 – Utilization management supervisor reviews case with the utilization management 
reviewer to assure appropriate justification for DNMC and writes DNMC letter. 

Step 4 – SOS chief medical officer (CMO) reviews the case with the utilization 
management supervisor and if SOS CMO is in agreement, signs the DNMC letter. 

Step 5 – DNMC letter is sent to the client (or designee) and to the county case manager. 
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IV. Process for appealing medical necessity determination 
Clients have the right to appeal this determination. Clients may file an appeal with the 
Appeals Unit of the Minnesota Department Human Services.  The address is below. Clients 
must submit their appeal within 30 days of when they receive notice. If the client can show 
good cause for failing to appeal within 30 days, the client might be able to appeal within 60 
days. The human services judge decides if the client has good cause. 

Representation: If the client requests an appeal, they may represent themselves or ask a 
lawyer, a friend or others to help them. 

Appeals Units 
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
PO Box 64941 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0941 
(651) 431-3600 

V. Action to be taken on county non-payment of county 
portion of cost of care  
It is the responsibility of the county to make payment to the state within a reasonable period 
of time. Claims not paid in 90 day are considered to be outside of a reasonable period of 
time. When payment is not received within 90 days, the Commissioner of Human Services 
may assess financial penalties against the county in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256.01, subdivision 2 as follows: 

Subdivision 2. Specific powers. 
Subject to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021, subdivision 2, the 
commissioner of human services shall carry out the specific duties in paragraphs (a) 
through (bb): 
 
5) delay or deny payment of all or part of the state and federal share of benefits and 
administrative reimbursement according to the procedures set forth in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256.017; 

Process for non-paid claims.  
Upon notification to the county from the Direct Care & Treatment patient accounting office 
of non-paid claims exceeding 90 days, credit balances will be established in the 
Departments Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) for the full amount of the 
outstanding debt.  Once established, future MMIS payments will be reduced, in whole or in 
part, until the value of the credit balance/outstanding debt is realized.  The payment 
reductions will be reflected on each county’s Remittance Advices (835’s). 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=241.021#stat.241.021.2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256.017
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Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Advisory  
This information is available in accessible formats for people with disabilities by calling 
(651) 431-3676 (voice) or toll free at (800) 627-3529 or by using your preferred relay 
service. For other information on disability rights and protections, contact the agency’s ADA 
coordinator. 
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