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Susan J. Tostevin, Authorized Agent
Lifestyle Counseling of Richfield/Bloomington
9613 Girard Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55431-2619

License Number 1015735 (Chemical Dependency Treatment)
Report Number 20161394
[bookmark: AddressStreet]
CERTIFIED MAIL
ORDER TO PAY A FINE
BACKGROUND STUDY VIOLATIONS

[bookmark: Salutation]Dear Ms. Tostevin:
[bookmark: InspectionDate][bookmark: VisitType][bookmark: Allegations][bookmark: ReviewType]
On September 26 and 27, 2016, a Department of Human Services (DHS) licensor conducted a licensing review and licensing investigation at Lifestyle Counseling of Richfield/Bloomington which provides chemical dependency treatment services at 9613 Girard Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota.  During the review and investigation, the DHS licensor determined that Lifestyle Counseling of Richfield/Bloomington did not comply with background study requirements.  The Commissioner is ordering Lifestyle Counseling of Richfield/Bloomington to pay a $400 fine for two background study violations.

A.	Reason for the Fine
 
The license holder did not comply with background study requirements.

Under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, the Commissioner of Human Services may fine license holders $200 for each occurrence of a violation of law or rule governing matters of health, safety, or supervision, including the failure to comply with background study requirements.

B.	Statutory Citation and License Violation 

Citation:  Minnesota Statutes, section 245C.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (f). 

Violation:  On September 26 and 27, 2016, a DHS licensor reviewed personnel records and determined that the license holder did not submit background study requests to DHS for two staff persons (SP1 and SP2) before they began positions allowing direct contact with persons served by the program.  

· SP1 began working in a position allowing direct contact with persons served by the program on November 8, 2015.  On September 26 and 27, 2016, the licensor determined that the license holder had not submitted background study requests to DHS for SP1.  SP1 is no longer employed by the license holder.

· SP2 began working in a position allowing direct contact with persons served by the program on February 1, 2016.  On September 26 and 27, 2016, the licensor determined that the license holder had not submitted background study requests to DHS for SP2.  SP2 is no longer employed by the license holder.

The failure to submit background study requests to DHS before staff persons begin positions allowing direct contact with persons served by the program is a violation of background study requirements.

Corrective Action Ordered:  You must comply with the background study requirements in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245C.  In addition, you are also directed to specifically review and ensure compliance with the requirements in sections 245C.03, 245C.04, 245C.05, 245C.07, 245C.13, 245C.18, 245C.20, 245C.22, and 245C.30.

C.	Total fine to be paid:  $400

D.	Billing and Payment of the Fine
 
DHS will send you an invoice for the $400 fine.  Payment must be made as directed on the invoice.  

A timely request for a contested case hearing under item E shall stay the payment of the fine until the Commissioner issues a final order.  If you decide to exercise your right to a contested case hearing, do not pay the fine.  Following the contested case hearing, the Commissioner will issue a final order on this matter.  

Under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), clause (5), when a fine has been assessed, the license holder may not avoid payment by closing, selling, or otherwise transferring the licensed program to a third party.  In such an event, the license holder will be personally liable for payment.  In the case of a corporation, each controlling individual is personally and jointly liable for payment.

E.	Right to Request a Contested Case Hearing
 
You have the right to request a contested case hearing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612.  If you choose to exercise this right, your request must be made in writing by certified mail or personal service.  If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the Commissioner within ten (10) calendar days after you receive this order.  If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the Commissioner within ten (10) calendar days after you receive this order. 

Your request for a contested case hearing must be sent to:
 
Commissioner, Department of Human Services
ATTN:  Legal Unit
c/o Licensing Division
PO Box 64242
St. Paul, MN 55164-0242

[bookmark: LicPhone]If you have any questions regarding the fine, please contact Ben Peterson, DHS Licensor, at 
(651) 431-6640.
 
Sincerely,
[image: ]
Regina Wagner, Deputy Inspector General
[bookmark: Licensor]Office of Inspector General - Licensing Division

Division of Licensing, PO Box 64242, St. Paul, MN 55164-0242   An Equal Opportunity Employer
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