Elderly Waiver (EW) and Alternative Care (AC) code changes
<br>

May 19, 2015 – MHCP Provider Update WAV-15-05
June 11, 2015 – Corrected name from foster care child to foster care adult for code S5141
What is changing?
Beginning July 1, 2015, the Elderly Waiver (EW) and Alternative Care (AC) programs will eliminate five daily codes. Also beginning July 1, 2015, lead agencies must use the Customized Living Tool (CL Tool) to set rates for EW foster care and residential care services. These changes apply to fee-for-service and Managed Care Organizations (MCOs). 
Do not use the following daily codes for EW and AC for services provided on and after July 1, 2015:
Adult Day Service 



S5102  

Family Adult Day Service (FADS)

S5102 U7 

Homemaker - Assistance with personal cares 
S5131 TG 
Homemaker - Cleaning 



S5131 
Homemaker - Home Management 

S5131 TF  
Lead agencies must use the EW CL Tool to determine rates for the following services beginning July 1, 2015:

Foster Care Adult - Corporate 


S5141 HQ  

Foster Care Adult - Family 


S5141 
Residential Care Services 


T2032 




The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) has issued an updated version of the CL Tool that determines rates for foster care and residential care services.

Background Information
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services require DHS to apply uniform, statewide standards for service rate determinations. The DHS Aging and Adult Services Division, in partnership with the Disability Services Division, is undertaking multiple efforts to modernize its systems for managing, monitoring, and paying providers of Home and Community Based Services waiver and AC services.
Who needs to know? 
MHCP-enrolled providers for EW and AC programs
What do I need to do? 

· Check your MN–ITS SAL file for new or updated service agreements (SAs). 
· Verify the SA is correct.
· Work with the lead agency to correct the procedure code on the SA if necessary.
· For questions regarding MCOs, contact the health plan. 
<br>
How do I bill for this?
· Starting July 1, 2015, bill with the 15-minute code listed on the SA. 

· Bill each date on a separate line. But if you have provided services for all dates in the span, then use the date span.
· Bill the total amount of units (15 minutes = 1 unit) and the total charge for the units. 
· Bill your usual and customary rate, not your SA rate. 
For example, if your usual and customary for 15 minutes is $5.00, and your SA is approved for a rate of $4.25 per unit, use $5.00 per unit when billing. If you provided an hour of service, then your billing line for that date of service should include four units and a total charge of $20.00. Review the Billing section of HCBS Waiver Services for additional billing information.   
<br>
Additional Resources

Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0913 (AC Program)
Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0195 (Medicaid Waiver for Elderly Services)
Bulletin # 15-25-02 Rate Methodologies for EW, AC, and ECS Service Authorization
Elderly Waiver Customized Living Tools
If you have questions about this information, call the MHCP Provider Call Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411.
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