Legislature Authorizes Rate and Limit Changes for Long-Term Services and Supports
<br>

August 3, 2016 – MHCP Provider Update WAV-16-04
What is the change?
The Minnesota Legislature authorized the following rate and limit changes for long-term services and supports effective July 1, 2016: 
· A 0.2 percent rate increase for consumer directed community supports (CDCS), Consumer Support Grant (CSG) and personal care assistance (PCA) services: 
The 2015 Minnesota Legislature authorized a 0.2 percent rate increase for budgets in the CDCS and CSG programs and PCA services to implement the minimum hourly wage and paid time off provisions of the agreement between the state of Minnesota and SEIU Healthcare Minnesota. (Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 7, section 53). This increase applies to reimbursement rates, individual budgets, grants, or allocations for services provided on or after July 1, 2016.
· A 21.3 percent increase to Elderly Waiver (EW) and Alternative Care (AC) individual case-mix budget caps, Elderly Waiver Customized Living and 24-Hour Customized Living Service limits, and CDCS monthly case-mix limits in EW and AC 

· The Minnesota Legislature reestablished a link between nursing facility rates and monthly budget limits under EW and AC (Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a). This statute requires the limits to increase by the greater of either the nursing facility rate increase or the increase to home and community-based services (HCBS) rates during a state fiscal year (SFY). For SFY 2017, the nursing facility rate increase exceeds the 0.2 percent HCBS rate increase. 

· Effective July 1, 2016, the following will increase by 21.3 percent: 

· Monthly case-mix budget caps for EW and AC, including CDCS monthly budget caps 

· EW service rate limits for customized living (CL) and 24-hour customized living (24-hour CL) 

· Transition to daily rates for EW customized living services and adult foster care

Beginning July 1, 2016, customized living services and adult foster care provided under the Elderly Waiver program use a daily rate instead of a monthly rate. This change simplifies both the authorization and billing procedures and improves overall authorization and billing integrity. Refer to Provider Update, EW Customized Living Services and Adult Foster Care Monthly to Daily Rate and Billing Code Transition (WAV-16-02) for more information.

· Mileage rate adjustment 

DHS adjusted the federal mileage rate to 54 cents per mile effective July 1, 2016. This mileage adjustment applies to all HCBS programs.

How does this affect me?

The rates for component services have not changed. However, the increases to the monthly case-mix budget caps affect how case managers or care coordinators plan for and authorize additional services within a person’s budget. 
For CL and 24-hour CL, the service limit increases will allow case managers or care coordinators to authorize additional component services within a person’s customized living plan. 

Services and programs affected

Services and programs affected by the rate and limit changes include the following:
· 0.2 percent rate increase for certain services

PCA services, including the following extended PCA services and budgets in the CDCS and CSG programs, receive a rate increase: 

· Alternative Care (AC) program

· Brain injury (BI) waiver

· Community Alternative Care (CAC) waiver

· Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) waiver

· Consumer Support Grant (CSG)

· Developmental Disabilities (DD) waiver

· Elderly Waiver (EW)

· Care PCA services and qualified professional (QP) supervision of PCA services

· 21.3 percent monthly cost limit increase for the following:
· Elderly Waiver (EW) case-mix caps

· Alternative Care (AC) program case-mix caps

· EW and AC Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS) budget caps

· EW Customized Living and 24-Hour Customized Living service rate limits

What do I need to do?
DHS automatically adjusted service agreements (SAs) for rate changes. You do not need to take any action for these changes.
Service rate increases under managed care

Contact the MCO for information about the effective date and procedures related to the rate increases for recipients enrolled through an MCO.

Additional Resources

Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 7, section 53
Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a
Minnesota Statute, section 256B.69
Minnesota Legislature Authorizes Rate and Limit Changes for Long-Term Services and Supports Bulletin (#16-25-01) (PDF)
Long-term services and supports rates changes web page 
EW Customized Living Services and Adult Foster Care Monthly to Daily Rate and Billing Code Transition Provider Update WAV-16-02


If you have questions about this information, call the MHCP Provider Call Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411.
Sign up to receive Provider Updates and other MHCP notices in your email account.
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Post to: 24, 33, 51, 52, 53, 85 (add additional provider types as needed)

Email to: (add email list selections as needed)


